If you liked Outwitting History...

TitleReadalikes.OutwittingHistory History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output

Changed line 4 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=born+to+kvetch|Born to kvetch: Yiddish language and culture in all its moods]]\\
to:
*[[Born to kvetch: Yiddish language and culture in all its moods -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/2331302]]\\
Changed line 9 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~/t?SEARCH=words+on+fire+the+unfinished+story+of+yiddish|Words on Fire: The unfinished story of Yiddish]]\\
to:
*[[Words on Fire: The unfinished story of Yiddish -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/2292191]]\\
Changed line 13 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=A+gentle+madness|A gentle madness: bibliophies, bibliomanes, and the eternal passion for books]]\\
to:
*[[A gentle madness: bibliophies, bibliomanes, and the eternal passion for books -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/512401]]\\
Changed line 19 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Collected+Stories%3A+Gimpel+the+Fool|Collected Stories: Gimpel the Fool to The Letter Writer]]\\
to:
*[[Collected Stories: Gimpel the Fool to The Letter Writer -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/2277285]]\\
Changed line 23 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Shosha|Shosha]]\\
to:
*[[Shosha -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/47477]]\\
Changed line 27 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Old+books%2C+rare+friends|Old books, rare friends: Two literary sleuths and their shared passion]]\\
to:
*[[Old books, rare friends: Two literary sleuths and their shared passion -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/1936967]]\\
Changed line 32 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Bookends+two+women|Bookends: Two women, one enduring friendship]]\\
to:
*[[Bookends: Two women, one enduring friendship -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/2115622]]\\
Changed line 37 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Out+of+the+flames|Out of the flames: The remarkable story of a fearless scholar, a fatal heresy, and one of the rarest books in the world]]\\
to:
*[[Out of the flames: The remarkable story of a fearless scholar, a fatal heresy, and one of the rarest books in the world -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/2162561]]\\
Changed line 42 from:
*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Fahrenheit+451|Fahrenheit 451]]\\
to:
*[[Fahrenheit 451 -> http://bark.cwmars.org/eg/opac/record/2788216]]\\
Changed line 45 from:
[-In Bradbury's future, books are illegal and happily so--citizens are too busy watching their wall-sized televisions and listening to their in-ear "seashell" radios to care about the loss of good literature.  Guy Montag begins the novel as a fireman who enforces the temperature of the title--that at which books burn--but then transforms and tries to show is society the mistake of censorship.-]
to:
[-In Bradbury's future, books are illegal and happily so--citizens are too busy watching their wall-sized televisions and listening to their in-ear "seashell" radios to care about the loss of good literature.  Guy Montag begins the novel as a fireman who enforces the temperature of the title--that at which books burn--but then transforms and tries to show is society the mistake of censorship.-]
Added lines 1-45:
(:notitle:)(:title If you liked Outwitting History...:)
! If you liked ''Outwitting History'...

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=born+to+kvetch|Born to kvetch: Yiddish language and culture in all its moods]]\\
Michael Wex
->XHHRC.W541b 2005
[-A humorous history of the Yiddish language from the Middle Ages to today, traces the origins of numerous veryday terms while offering insight into Yiddish relationshipswith nature, sex, food, and more.-]

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~/t?SEARCH=words+on+fire+the+unfinished+story+of+yiddish|Words on Fire: The unfinished story of Yiddish]]\\
Dovid Katz
[-Linguist Dovid Katz provides a wholly enjoyable and many-faceted history of Yiddish and clearly explicates how it helped shape, and was shaped by, Jewish culture.-]

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=A+gentle+madness|A gentle madness: bibliophies, bibliomanes, and the eternal passion for books]]\\
Nicholas A. Basbanes
->ZM.B29g 1999
[-A celebration of the fine and increasingly popular art of book collecting offers a comprehensive and delightfully anecdotal account of the history of book preservation and cllection and its eccentric, gifted, and obsessed practitioners, including Aaron Lansky.-]


*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Collected+Stories%3A+Gimpel+the+Fool|Collected Stories: Gimpel the Fool to The Letter Writer]]\\
Isaac Bashevis Singer
->YF 2004

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Shosha|Shosha]]\\
Isaac Bashevis Singer
->YF

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Old+books%2C+rare+friends|Old books, rare friends: Two literary sleuths and their shared passion]]\\
Leona Rostenberg and Madeleine Stern
->ZM.R723o 
[-Two octogenarian antiquarian booksellers, friends and business partners for fifty years, reflect on their career as literary detectives searching out rare books, including their landmark discovery of the pseudonymous works of Louisa May Alcott.-]

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Bookends+two+women|Bookends: Two women, one enduring friendship]]\\
Leona Rostenberg and Madeleine Stern
->ER7235.A 2001
[-The rare book dealers who delighted readers with the history of their bookselling days in ''Old Books, Rare Friends'' now offer the other side of their story--an intimate look at the joys of a relationship that has lasted more than half a century.-]

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Out+of+the+flames|Out of the flames: The remarkable story of a fearless scholar, a fatal heresy, and one of the rarest books in the world]]\\
Lawrence and Nancy Goldstone
->ESe69.G578o 2002
[-Looks at the life and times of Michael Servetus, a freethinking sixteenth-century scientist and theologian who authored a work of biblical scholarship that refuted orthodox Christianity, which led to his execution for heresy.-]

*[[http://wmars.cwmars.org/search~S41/t?SEARCH=Fahrenheit+451|Fahrenheit 451]]\\
Ray Bradbury
->YF
[-In Bradbury's future, books are illegal and happily so--citizens are too busy watching their wall-sized televisions and listening to their in-ear "seashell" radios to care about the loss of good literature.  Guy Montag begins the novel as a fireman who enforces the temperature of the title--that at which books burn--but then transforms and tries to show is society the mistake of censorship.-]
Page last changed: November 05, 2012, at 05:00 PM EST.